March 23, 2013

  • The First Leg

    The beginning of my trip was to be going down to see my Uncle in Cambridge area, and staying with him for a couple weeks while we sort out an IT job in London over the weekend.

    To get us down the 500 miles between home and there my Uncle came up and picked up me and my dad as mostly willing assistants.

    The trip down was surprisingly easy and nice I barely even noticed it to be honest and we were there in the sort of ‘village’ he lives in near Cambridge. South of the border between Scotland and England always feels a little too flat for a Highlander such as myself ;) and the Fens is even worse :O

    But it was nice to see everyone and we settled in quite nicely. England currently is quite on the cold side, actually getting worse weather than up north which is very strange, so it was brisk but nice :)

    The job was over the weekend and was a PA test, which basically means take all electrical items out of the wall, test em and plug them back in. Not so hard but time consuming when you consider office desks and the over 100+ items in the office -_-

    But working together (not often an easy thing :P ) we managed to get it done in just one day :D

    Annoyingly I had made plans to meet up with some people in London expecting to be there over at least two days, but our full one day blitz meant I had to return to the big city via train the following day on Sunday.

    We actually had to ask the people at the train station how to use the ticket machine lol no such new fangled things where I come from ;)

    But if I thought the small village train station was bad I had no idea what I was in for with London. Originally I’d hoped to meet up with some website clients to discuss work but as it turned out they were busy so I ended up meeting with someone I’d met online, making it the very first online friend meet up :D

    Sadly she was not a Xangan, but it was still cool and quite strange.

    She directed me to go via tube to a certain station which opened onto Oxford Street, there I waited her arrival and was already feeling a bit over loaded by the throngs of people and the tube journey which was only my second ever :S

    Thankfully she was a resident of London and definitely a city girl and with her help once she arrived, I mostly survived my trip to the capital :)

    I got my mind blown by Selfridges, marvelled at the sheer quantity of different accents and peoples from all over the world that can be seen there, and we even got to go to the Saatchi Gallery :)

    She was an art student and her appreciation of the works of art was very interesting to see. I then made the mistake of ordering food in the expensive part of town O.O holy cow I’d not be able to live for more than a week on those prices, if that.

    Then it was home time, and I was surprised at just how exhausted a few hours in all that movement and noise had made me.

    It is a beautiful city and quite fascinating but not for me I don’t think.

    My return to London was the following Wednesday when I caught the bus to Manchester to go visit another Uncle, most of the shots below were taken during my wait for the bus but some are from the Sunday trip.

    In The Saatchi. Thats a pool of oil :)

    Outside the Train/Tube Station, one of its exits anyway.

    Several Sides of Battersey Power Station, I had to walk all the way around it…well didn’t have to but I did :)

    Random nice bits of my morning jaunt around Battersey waiting for the coach to Manchester.

     

     

Comments (10)

  • Sounds like an interesting experience for you. Nice pics.

  • What is the Saatchi? I have been to London but don’t recognize those pics lol. Did you get to the touristy parts? Buckingham Palace, Parliament, British Museum? If not go back lol. Cool you met your friend and glad you had fun.

  • It must have been nice to have someone show you around who knew the place. I was there many years ago and, like you, had my mind boggled by the noise and rush! Wonderful place, though. I would like to go back. I like the pictures of the power station.

  • Wow. Quite the beauty the city is. Definitely would love to see it for myself one of these days. And it sounds like you had an interesting experience from it all, Bede. :)

  • YOU SHOULD LIVE THERE

    The bestest place ever.#

    Sorry to be mundane, but what’s the new font?
    I’m really feeling this one and may have to pinch it.

  • beautiful England <3

  • Some interesting buildings they have there. A pool of oil?

  • Wow, that looks really interesting. I always enjoy looking at the different buildings (totally different than the boring ones here).

  • Beautiful photos, beautiful place! Sounds like you had some fun times!
    Is the oil in the pool artistic?! Or to fry large chicken wings?!
    HUGS to you, LittleCakes!!!

  • @naughty_virgin - Thanks :) yeah it was interesting.

    @EmilyandAtticus - The Saatchi art gallery, it was surreal hehe ;)
    and no didn’t really have much time for the touristy parts :

    @whyzat -  Yes i’d never have survived without help from my friend and a xangan too :)

    @Annieothergirl - It was a lot of fun and well worth seeing but only in small doses lol

    @Nushirox2 - Haha well while I did appreciate your tips on how to survive, I’m not really suited to London life i don’t think :S far too loud and busy.
    It is a nice place though.

    As for the font i’ll hunt it out later today, its one of the basic websafe ones i think, so nothing fancy. But this layout was made by another xangan for me which was cool :) and i’m not sure of the font off the top of my head.

    @fabolousclown - Parts of it :)

    @olwd - Yeah I love the skylines of cities now, Manchester is particularly nice. And yes it was an oily art installation.

    @Irelynn - You get a great mix of old and new here,from gothic to ultra modern.

    @adamswomanback - Haha no massive chicken wings i’m afraid it was all for art :P but i quite liked it to be honest, although it didn’t smell very nice.
    Hugs to you too :D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *