December 11, 2012

  • Positivity Week Day 7

    Day 1 – Share A Picture
    Share a picture from this year. It can be of a person, someplace you went, an event and explain why it is positive to you.
     
    Day 2 – Turn A Negative Into A Positive
    Tell about something that happened to you this year that was negative, but ended up being positive.
     
    Day 3 – A Movie With A Positive Message
    Write about a movie you have watched that you think had a positive message. It can be one you’ve seen recently, this year, last, or just a favorite.
     
    Day 4 – Your Day
    Share something positive about your day. It can be something as simple as someone hi, or smiled at you and it put you in a good mood.
     
    Day 5 – Gratitude
    Today make a list of things, or people you’re grateful for. The list has no limit, it can be as short or as long as you want.
     
    Day 6 – Share A Song
    Share a song that you think is positive. 
     
    Day 7 – Feeling Positive

    On this last day, share what you do after you’ve had a bad day to cheer yourself up, or get yourself feeling positive again.


    Huh Day 7 already o.O that went fast.

    Today turning a frown upside down, how do I change my mood from gloom to…errm bloom? :P

    Well bad poems and puns help for one ;)

    I’ve only really struggled that much with feeling sad for long periods of time recently, as in the last few years.

    Before I guess I had enough distractions or was blissfully ignorant enough to not feel to bad for too long :P

     

    But now I think my main mood altering actions are:

    Playing computer games. Being a bit of a nerd this is of course a perfect source of escapism and mood boosting past time, you can quickly get lost in the digital world and all other concerns fade, plus you get plenty of small achievements to boost your happy chem releases while playing ;)

    Music. A classic mood changer, just pop some fun tracks on and even get up and get moving and you’ll be in a different mood in moments.

    Workout. Pretty rare for me but always works to get the happy chems flowing.

    Water. This one I’ve known about for a while but don’t often have to use it. But if you have a very strong emotional state going on, anger, sadness…anything really. Go splash your face (or have a shower) and notice how the contact of water instantly changes your mental state and brings clarity, intersting and useful if you are really angry.

    I think thats the main ways I’ll sort out bad moods, but my mind being what it is I also tend to become aware during various emotional states and realise that even the sucky ones i’ve kind of chosen and in a strange paradoxical way I am actually secretly enjoying the sensation of whatever mood it is. Bad or good they all serve a purpose, so sometimes I might just kind of indulge in the mood whatever it is just because it has as much right to be there as the happy ones.

    Oh also more recently talking to folsk online tends to put me in a good mood :)


    Well thats it for the week :D always enjoy these challenges, hope everyone is having a posetive week!

Comments (6)

  • I haven’t thought of the water aspect, but now that you’ve mentioned it, it does help. Great methods to alter your negative moods to positive, Bede. :) Now, how did I miss your day 6..Gotta backtrack now. hehe

  • @Babieboo_Annie - Haha thanks Annie :)
    For a second there I thought I may have missed day 6 too o.O but no it’s there :P

    Yeah I often forget the water one, but it really works…I think it’s the Negative Ions, like when you are near a waterfall and get a buzz :)

  • Really? Water? I seriously have never done this but now that you mentioned it, showering after a long, bad day can really be relaxing. 

  • @simplysuzu - Yeah it’s a strange one, but it really works.
    Particularly if you are angry, just splashing your face will totally change your mood for a few seconds.

  • I am definitely going to give this challenge a try once I get home from Christmas. I know I’ll have the time for it then. Do you know who started this challenge on Xanga or is it just something you picked up?

  • @boxedwine - I picked it up from the lovely Babieboo_annie and she got it from Shining_Garnet :)
    And you should it is a fun one, I recall there was another a while back that I also got from Annie.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *