Month: October 2012

  • The Babieboo Poetry Challenge

    Well not really a challenge just a suggestion ;)

    But a good one. So in honour of @Babieboo_annie here is my poem about a Xangan.

    I have sooooooooooooo many MANY amazing Xangans to pick from it’s almost impossible, so rather than be stuck with indecision for days on end I went with my gut, which selected one the second I read the challenge.

    He’s a good man with many skills and a fine blogger, i’m sure you’ll figure him out on the first line but i’ll leave it a mystery until the bottom of the post just incase you want the fun of guessing :)

    Also again due to on the spot inspiration…I seem to have picked an almost rap style of poem lol NO idea why but hope it’s okay.


    Unstoppable H, rocking the bass, if you’re speaking BS he’s sure to give chase.

    Purely, truly keepin’ it real, don’t waste my time if your heart can’t feel.

    Light up the night with a death metal shirt, cannibal corpse can still get hurt.

    Deep down, deep inside, where the inner strengths lie, he may be unstoppable but a strong man can cry.

    Made of iron, heart of a lion, steel strings flyin’ keepin’ the flow, down river go go go.

    Unstoppable H rocking the bass, read his words, read his face, be true to you, be true to others it don’t matter your faith we’re all brothers, we are all brothers.


    If you want to join in (and I rather hope you do) find the challenge details HERE

    And now not that anyone who knows him could be in any doubt at this point i’d think, this poem is dedicated to:

    @Unstoppable_Inner_Strength

    (Hope you like it…or at least forgive me if you hate it lol)

     

  • Hired Hand

     

    I don’t have the free time at the moment really but hey i’ll find it somehow :) so here’s the deal:

    I want everyone to suggest some themes, concepts, ideas anything really, even pictures for me to create a short story around.

    My preferance is Sci-Fi and Fantasy but I’m happy to go for anything (and i’ll probably be able to change the theme of it to suit my style anyway ;)

     

  • From David to Goliath

    Or certainly something a bit more solid anyway.

    I have never been a bulky chap, mostly i’m just tall and thin. I’m fit-ish since I live somewhere so wild I have plenty oppertunity to go out and wander about, so for walking and hiking i’m pretty sorted…but due to my passion for computers and the iffyness of our weather I do tend to spend a little too long in on the PC rather than out doing something fitness oriented.

    Add to this my total lack of persistence when faced with even the most loose daily routine and most exercise systems and techniques quickly fail to stick :/

    But thanks to the unpleasant experiance of not eating properly for several weeks last year due to illness and then being left with a body that would not have looked out of place as a skeleton for halloween I have been inspired to find somekind of routine that I will stick to this year.

    All of that preamble is to introduce Isometrics! :D

    The basic concept is not to use equipment or spend much time on a whole ‘workout’ but instead to use our own built in workout equipment…our own body.

    This concept has always appealed to me even before I had a real desire to workout because it is as simple as you can get. Rather than having a whole setup or having to go to a gym (which for a anti-social chap like me is never going to be an option) Isometrics uses just your body and resistance to exercise each different muscle group, but since you are using your own body to workout the targetted group, it is always also working the rest of your body, giving a much more holistic workout and growth.

    Even better it limits the potential damage you can do to yourself, unlike when using equipment. With weights and other forms of workout, you are always at risk of doing just a bit too much and being taken out of action simply by lifting a weight slightly off balance. But with Isometrics you are in total control, your strength is helping to build on its self, so as you get stronger so does your workout, it’s naturally designed to level up slowly and safely.

    I have been doing an Isometric workout for the past couple weeks now and although I have no impressive before and after shots (that i’m quite willing to share…yet ;P) I can’t deny that even after a short time I’ve been feeling much more ‘solid’ and there is an un-deniable sense of development. Best of all though (considering my lazy tendancies) the workout i’ve been doing takes the shortest possible time of any i’ve ever looked at, not more than 20mins for even the longest one.

    And since they are broken up into one body area per day throughout the week most of the time it’s less than even 20mins. Of course I could do more and once i’ve gotten used to them I think I will be but for now even doing the bare minimum it’s been encouraging to feel the benefits.

    So once I get brave enough to post pics of myself in nothing but me boxers i’ll see if I can start my very own fitness challenge for myself to track any progress :)

    And if you’ve ever felt the need to workout but like me been daunted by the time lost or the equipment needed then I very much recommend this program: 7Seconds to a Perfect Body

    I think the best bit of it is that he’s actually a really nice and clear guy who explains each exercise and the benefits very clearly and gently, none of these buff workout guys getting overly excited and ripping shirts off :P just a quiet funny Irish guy telling you the basic info with no extra fluff.

  • Thats Nice

    A little while ago I stumbled across Omegle which is a random chat site that allows you to either search randomly or add interests to find random folks from around the world and have a quick chat.

    While exploring the various different people you can find with different tags I tried adding ‘advice’ and came across someone who was having a pretty horrible time of it, not wanting to go into too much detail she was suffering un-fair and down right evil sounding abuse and was not a happy cookie.

    I couldn’t really offer her anything more than my sympathy and what little suggestions I could to help her, but I was immensely impressed by her clarity and calmness despite having experianced things that I’m sure would have broken my resolve.

    After the conversation I wished her the best of luck and asked her to e-mail me if things ever improved. Mostly I didn’t expect to ever hear from her again, either because things didn’t turn out well or just because why would she bother e-mailing some random dude who she talked to one night.

    But just yesterday I think, I got a message from her detailing how much better things are and filled with the same strength and clarity, but this time also hope and excitment :D

    I truly love the power we have esspecially with the internet but just in every moment to spread even a little seed of support, joy, love or any other finer emotion to others or the world around us. And this e-mail put a really big smile on my face, not out of pride or anything that I did. Since in truth all I could offer was words, but because irregardless of the players the story was one of freedom and happiness.

    So I once again will share this fantastic video that @babieboo_annie got me hooked on (thank you again! <3 ) and remind everyone that it really dosen’t matter what little thing you do, just do it with the intention of goodness and more life for everyone ;)  

  • The Vlog

    Finally it’s here the answer to all your questions…and what a lot of questions there turned out to be O.O even cut up into three this is a long video.

    Part One: @itetpi @under_the_carpet @Marica0701

    Part Two: @babieboo_annie @fabolousclown @Endless21echos

    Part Three: @boxedwine @chainbracelets @nushirox2

    Thanks to Amalia for inspiring me to do this again :D was tricky and took most of my day as always but worth it hehe

    Hope the sounds are clear enough for everyone, you may need to turn up the volume sometimes but mostly it’s fine i think…and for the times my damn camera mic messed up i added sub titles (or in this case Super titles)

     

     

     

  • On The Way

    Well here was I thinking I’d have a few days before I had enough questions for my Vlog :P

    Thank you everyone for your questions I shall get onto answering them ASAP…probably in the next day or two.

    But until then check out my lastest awesome purchase from China ;)

    Captain America – The Punisher – Deck of Aces – Fleur de lis – StarTrek Badge -

    More epic Cufflinks one and all :D

    Also finished my most recent website project www.spotonlights.com

    Lovely clients and very nice clear design concept, was a pleasure to work on :)

    Let me know if you spot any issues with it as I am still making sure all the kinks are ironed out.

    Be well and have a good week all!

  • I just want to…

    Post something :/ it’s been too long since I was regularly on good old Xanga.

    So first of all check out this epic photo of myself, most of the time I’m not a big fan of the way I look…but this shot is just cool! cool hehe

    And second why not ask me some questions?

    It’s been an even longer while since I did a Vlog and @fabolousclowns recent ones got me in the mood :) so ask me anything and i’ll collect them up for later vlogging…might need to make a couple posts asking this since my recent lack of Xangering as almost certainly dropped my readership more than a bit.

     

  • Companion – Part Four

    A loooong time in the comming here is another part of a story thats gotten much longer than I thought it ever would.

    It really needs a good deal of editing I can see now :/ but for what it’s worth here are the previous bits:

    Part 1Part 2Part 3

    Part one is still the best, I usually have a pretty good grasp of one concept or idea and can do much better at writing that one bit than I do with follow ups…but I’m on the verge of being hunted down by Nadia @xXxlovelylollipop if I don’t get round to at least some more writing ;) so here is Part 4.


    “This has got to be a first.”

    Grace said in a dead pan voice as Nate slumped into the plastic chair opposite her.

     

    “I’m probably the only girl to be stood up by a maximum security inmate.”

    Although she was genuinely annoyed at having been left to wait for almost an hour her tone was more joking than serious.

    “You told me to come back…” She started but Nate cut her off.

    “Why did you come here?” He looked across at her intensely. He was angry but he didn’t know at whom if anyone.

     

    “You know right after you took me, and let me go. Those first few weeks, maybe even a couple months to a year. All I wanted to do was to find you again…and give you a big hug.” She looked away at the thin barred window and smiled to her self.

     

    “My parents paid so much attention to me, I was in heaven. I’d gone from practically invisible to the centre of their world, overnight.” She looked back at Nate, whose face had softened. But his eyes still burnt with a harsh intensity.

     

    “Hell I was young and had spent a long time alone, I didn’t really get the whole situation other than I met you and then my parents loved me again. But as I got older things changed.” She looked back at him. Nate was watching her silently and intently, his face was soft now, like he’d looked back then.

     

    “My parents’ love transformed into fear, fear for me, fear of random events…fear of everything. By the time I was 14, 15. I was just about driven crazy. I couldn’t go out. I had to check in all the time I didn’t have any friends who weren’t vetted by my mom. I’d basically lost all my freedom bit by bit until I didn’t have any left.”

     

    She paused for a moment again, but Nate could see she wasn’t finished so stayed silent.

    “I wanted to be someone else, to just leave and forget everything. Sometimes I blamed you…other times all I could do was think about you.“ She sighed and looked away again. This time Nate could see tears making her eyes shine in the sunlight.

     

    “So where are you now?” Nate asked trying to sound cold and move the focus away from what had made her cry.

    “Do you want to hug me…or do you blame me” He spoke as if to himself. If he was honest he knew he didn’t really want an answer.

     

    Grace made a half choked humourless laugh and turned her shining eyes to him.

    “I don’t know. I guess we can find out in what…another 10 years?”

     

    “I might be up for Parole in a couple years” Nate responded looking away from her face and down at his hands that rested in his lap.

     

    The two fell into silence again. It was a shared comfort in things not said, that they both used to hide in when words failed them.

    The minuets passed mercifully slowly, the large blank room filled with low conversations spoken quietly, sometimes broken by quavering voices or long sighs.

     

    “Five more minutes gents” The large Hispanic guard standing closest to Nate and Grace eventually announced to the room, lazily pointing his night stick at the white clock hanging on the wall. Mutters and groans greeted him in response and then the murmuring conversations began again this time with a pressured haste.

     

    A large pale man with a shaven head who had been sitting alone a few tables behind Nate got up loudly. “Fuck it man, I don’t have to be here another fucking minuet”

     

    “Just sidown and wait five more Rames” The guard said anger already making his voice sharp and commanding. “You waited all this time and NOW you want to call it a day. Park it and zip it!”

     

    “Fuck you! I ain’t doin’ nothing wrong bitch. Just getting to the head of the queue” The bald man got up and flipped his middle finger at the guard as he made his way through the chairs and tables towards the gated doors back into the main prison.

    The guards jaw clenched but he stood his ground merely resting his hand on the hilt of his nightstick and touching just below his eye with the tips of his other hands fingers before pointing at Rames as he crossed the room.

     

    “Hey, hey Nate. What do we have here bay-be.” Rames spoke as he walked by their table, his eyes locked on Grace. “I can’t tell if this is your daughter or your sweetheart man…either way she’s VERY fuckable! Hehe” He licked the tips of his fingers and slid them over his eyebrow as he leered and winked at Grace while punching Nate gently in the shoulder.  “Mmmm she’s finnnee”

     

    Nate didn’t respond other than to look up at the man as he walked by. When he turned back to Grace the look in his eye sent a shiver down her back. He wasn’t angry there wasn’t even the same intensity she’d seen before. Instead there was a deep coldness, a dark endless night filled with bitter lifeless ice, no remorse, no care, no humanity.

    Then it faded as his face once again softened and he looked hunted and alone.

     

    “Will you be here for long?” Nate asked, he broke off as if he was going to say something else.

     

    “Yeah…” Grace responded similarly unable to say more.

     

    Grace spent the rest of that day in the desert. Not far from the Prison there was a large open area where somekind of motel or service station had once been planned but was never completed. It was quiet and apart form the sound of distant traffic felt empty and abandoned.

     

    She called her mom but only half listened as she lay on the bonnet of her car and stared up into the vast blue sky that faded from shining white blue at the horizons to a heavy dark velvet above her.

     

  • Slow Day

    Well you asked for it so here is another batch of slow mo balloon executions ;)


    Other than making this film I’ve still been working on a website job recently and not much else. There are a few thoughts rattling around in my brain that either need turning into poems, or writing out one way or another so i’ll try to get onto that soon.

    Was quite distracted yesterday by a key hunt, when our neighbour lost theirs out on the daily walk…sadly we never found them but it was a good excuse to go for a long wander ;) which is lucky since today it is miserably dark and VERY wet.

    To be honest all I want to do is play Red Dead Redemption, which despite my elitist views on Xbox’s is a truly awesome game…and really should have been released on PC -_- but I’ll probably end up just working on sites most of the day…perhaps at night i’ll weaken and give myself an hour or two of saddle sores :P


     

    Once agiain the music is from GreenWing and by Trellis.