October 23, 2012

  • Thats Nice

    A little while ago I stumbled across Omegle which is a random chat site that allows you to either search randomly or add interests to find random folks from around the world and have a quick chat.

    While exploring the various different people you can find with different tags I tried adding ‘advice’ and came across someone who was having a pretty horrible time of it, not wanting to go into too much detail she was suffering un-fair and down right evil sounding abuse and was not a happy cookie.

    I couldn’t really offer her anything more than my sympathy and what little suggestions I could to help her, but I was immensely impressed by her clarity and calmness despite having experianced things that I’m sure would have broken my resolve.

    After the conversation I wished her the best of luck and asked her to e-mail me if things ever improved. Mostly I didn’t expect to ever hear from her again, either because things didn’t turn out well or just because why would she bother e-mailing some random dude who she talked to one night.

    But just yesterday I think, I got a message from her detailing how much better things are and filled with the same strength and clarity, but this time also hope and excitment :D

    I truly love the power we have esspecially with the internet but just in every moment to spread even a little seed of support, joy, love or any other finer emotion to others or the world around us. And this e-mail put a really big smile on my face, not out of pride or anything that I did. Since in truth all I could offer was words, but because irregardless of the players the story was one of freedom and happiness.

    So I once again will share this fantastic video that @babieboo_annie got me hooked on (thank you again! <3 ) and remind everyone that it really dosen’t matter what little thing you do, just do it with the intention of goodness and more life for everyone ;)  

Comments (14)

  • I think it’s great that we have the power to help others even though we don’t really know them. I’m glad that this girl is feeling better and finding that joy in her life :)

  • Awww what a sweet post! That is really nice indeed and I know how lucky that girl was to stumble with such a sweet caring young gentleman :3 lil things do count, Leny told me once that thoughfulness last longer than the mere gesture and knowing that filled my heart with joy…I’m lucky too, to know you and have you around <3

  • Have you ever heard of the expression Pay it Forward?  There is a link I should give you since this video reminds me of it for some reason and your kindness definitely pays off BEDE, you are a fantastic individual and I am so glad we are friends and that we can exchange letters soon. :)

  • Check this out, it is a movie, here in the States, I am sure you can watch it for free somewhere online: 

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TghkityJ4u8 
    Enjoy! 

  • What a wonderful post! You must have made quite a positive impression, and I’m so glad you heard from her. I tried using Omegle some time ago, but maybe I used it wrong, since it seemed only full of horny teenaged boys. I didn’t know you could have actual conversations on there as I never went back, and it’s wonderful you can. It sounds as if you showed kindness at a time when somebody needed it, and you made a difference. Thanks for sharing this uplifting story. I haven’t seen this video before but it’s awesome! 

  • Bede, you have the greatest heart! <3 It’s truly finding and connecting with people like you that makes me come back to Xanga no matter how long I am away.. I’m glad to hear that that woman that you chance to talk to is having more positive things happening for her. Even though you might think they are mere words that you offered her, you don’t know how much weight just those words and even any little acts can carry in a person’s heart.. It has a big impact. I know coz I was once there and words of a few loving people helped me move when I felt like I was in complete darkness. Keep on being awesome, Bede! :)

  • That is amazing! (Like I really needed more proof of how wonderful you are.) I’m so glad she was able to meet you and I’m so glad to have met you here on Xanga myself. I hope I get to meet you in person one day. I really do mean that.

  • how do you find decent people to talk on that website???

    almost always horny people i end up talking to. never really lasting 15 sec. 

  • I go on Omegle all the time.

  • @xdeelynnx - Yeah :) it’s a good feeling, and right at the moment I could do with a few of those.

    @xXxlovelylollipop - Haha awww thank you Nadia :D always being too sweet to me <3
    I and everyone is lucky to know you!

    @Endless21Echos - Thanks Erin :) I have heard of it before but i’m not sure i’ve seen it yet.
    I’ll try to get a hold of it somewhere. ((hugs))

    @EmilyandAtticus - Yeah it has a tendancy towards that sort of thing Omegle :/ but you can somewhat avoid it with the right tags and persistence. I’ve had some rather interesting conversations on there, such as the long debate over Islam with a PHD.
    Also glad I could introduce someone new to that video, I love it! :D

    @Babieboo_Annie - :D thank you so much Annie.
    You are a uniquely good example of how meaningful and effecting words can be. I think you have an incredible talent for beauty and meaning that makes you a real blessing on this site.

    @wyrdkismet - Aww and i’m glad I met you too Yumin! for one thing I managed to add another real book to my ‘have read’ list ;)
    And me too, I’ve always been soooo jealous of Alex (for a lot of reasons :P ) but meeting you is certainly a big one :)

    @f5ye_angel5 - Patience and persistence…and the right tags…but even then it’s kind of a lottery.
    I have had some longish convos on there though.

    @Want2FitIn2Fat2Fit - It can be a bit addicting.

  • @SaintBlue1131 - Thanks! Means a lot coming from you. :)

  • @SaintBlue1131 - Yeah I did have pretty long convos in there when I started using it. But for some reason, when I do find someone who is not talking about sexual, it’s hard to keep the convo going.

    maybe i’ll find you in there someday

  • @SaintBlue1131 - I’m honored that you took time to get a copy and read it! I feel really touched after reading your comment and I just wanted you to know that you shouldn’t be jealous of Alex. Both of you are two unique people that add your own special talents to Xanga and the world, and somehow, I don’t know when or how this is going to happen, but I have a feeling we will get a chance to meet yet. So keep your fingers crossed!

  • @wyrdkismet - :D What a lovely comment!
    Thank you so much <3 hehe don’t worry it’s more of a combo of respect and envy :P
    And I certainly will keep as many of my fingers crossed as i can type with ;) I have always had a strong feeling that one day we should meet too.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *