June 7, 2013

  • Your Numbers Up

    For my up coming college work i’m going to have to seriously brush up on my maths skills, they’ve never been a major focus of my life and at the moment ain’t that hot so the next little while i’m going to need to find a good way to sharpen my skills with maths, numbers and all that sort of thing.

    So my question is, what has helped you really get to grips with mathematics in your life?

    What techniques, books, concepts, tips, tricks all that sort of thing?

    Any suggestions would be gratefully received :)

Comments (10)

  • My mom’s friend. She’s a great tutor. She is tutoring my siblings now. Wish I could be of more help though.

  • I doubt that helps you…our school books were quite good. They explained something, like how a formula is developped, then you had excercises with ranging from simple to complicated, and then there was a page with nearly every possible kind of task and with solutions (that were on another page), for practice/testing yourself. I am someone who dooesn’t learn while writing things down; I usually took a bath and imagined things when I got good marks in maths. I think focusing on understanding concepts makes more sense than practicing so and so often, even though that can’t hurt.
    Unfortunately that wasn’t the case for a long time. i don’t know wether to blame the teacher, or the fact that I skipped like a third of my lessons when i wasn’t well…hhhhhmmm. What are you gonna do at college?

  • Practice, practice, and more practice. Really, my scores improved after doing more problems, beyond what was assigned.

  • I’m so so SO bad at Math!
    When I need help with numbers (or computers) I ask my nieces and nephews to help me! A kid can always help!
    I, also, rely on the calculator on my phone.
    Could you find some math books at a library, or math tips online, that might help?!
    Do you have any math people around who could tutor you?!
    After I took the Math required for my college degrees, I quit taking math classes.
    2 HUGS + 4 HUGS = 7 HUGS!!!

  • A tutor would be ideal but lacking that, perhaps some curriculum research for math online? I don’t know what levels of math you are doing but I’m sure you can find some things like that. Good luck, I fail at math! :)

  • @KnightInCROATIANarmor - Lol might be a bit of a long way to go for tutoring all the way to croatia ;)

    @under_the_carpet - Sorry for delay, i’m going to be studying an access course directed at Primery school teaching, so it’ll cover things like psychology and maths and english that sort of thing.

    @wyrdkismet -  :) Will do my best

    @uru_n_imi - Better get myself organised and focus in on doing stuff then in the next few weeks :S

    @adamswomanback - ~Lol yeah i’ve always got the good old iphone just incase, but it would be nice to be able to do it in my head too ;)
    HUGS

    @jennylovve -  >.< Thats cheating! :P

    @WrappedinWishes2 - Haha thanks yeah i’ll look into it and get apps for maths and stuff, at least you got to be a teacher despite not knowing maths :P but then you’re teaching English :S

  • @SaintBlue1131 - Didn’t say I didn’t know them then, I just don’t remember anymore.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *