June 3, 2013

  • Arthur

    Been off to Edinburgh last Thursday, stayed over Thursday night and also Friday night to be back on Saturday.

    While there I was going to another College Interview and on the morning of Friday I had to walk across the city to find the College. I could have taken a bus but thought the walk would be nice…and it was! :)

    I ended up walking up to Arthurs Seat, which is a view point on a large hill in the middle of Edinburgh. Despite having been to the city a few times I’d never actually been up there before and it was really quite a nice place to have a quick breakfast.

    Me sitting on the top of the mountain, thats my fancy outfit…I only have one ;)

    Below the summit there is a nice green field and it would seem there is a tradition of writing in stones on the grass :)

    Lucky Eve <3


    There was a slight misunderstanding with my interview and in the end the guy I was meeting had to wake me up as i’d gone to sleep in the reception lol :P But he was a lovely chap and it all went well.

    Then I took a bus back into town and met up with my Cousin who lives in the city. Sadly on the way I walked down the main high street…and managed to spend more money than I should, well comeon I couldn’t just walk past a sweet shoop could I??!

    Eventually I met up with him and went to a little bar to have a quick beer with him and his work mates. But it really was a quick drink as the person who I was staying with had gotten me a ticket to a night of music, poetry and animated films that was on. So I downed my beer, left my sweets by way of apology for my quick departure and rushed off to meet up at the venue.

    Managed to get there despite a bit of a long bus trip and some running between stops ;)

    The evening of art and culture was actually pretty cool, there was a few little animated films which were odd but okay. Then some poems which were quite good, in particular a very fired up Glasgow guy who really put some showmanship into his readings. Then there was some music which was also quite good…and of course plenty beer between artists.

    Afterwards we (the person I was staying with and her friends) headed off to a near by bar and had a quiet evening of chatting and enjoying a few more drinks. By the time 1am rolled on I was pretty knackered and thankfully so was my host since i’d left my spare key in my room. So we walked her little dog back through a lovely quiet park…had to chase the little dog after he got hold of a pen -_- couldn’t catch him but managed to outwit him eventually :P

    Was asleep pretty quick that night and up and gone at 7:30 to catch my 8:25 bus.

    The trip to the station was a little stressful as I found not only did I not have sufficent change for a bus, but there were no shops open for change and I really rather needed a bathroom. So there was a few mins of painful speedwalking until I came across a public toilets and then only just managed to reach my station before the bus boarded…I even had time for a mint caramel square and a coffee ;) though I did have to chug the coffee quite quick.

    And that was me back off home, to be honest I slept most of the journey back. But overall it was a nice little break away.

Comments (9)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *