May 10, 2013

  • The Right Words

    This is a Word Challenge/Game by @nushirox2 or at least she was the one who tagged me so i’m assuming it was hers.

    We’ve taken to trivializing our language and words, using the extremes to somehow get more out of our expressions and conversation, perhaps it is the natural tendency of humans to push the boundries or maybe we just think it’s funny :)

    So the game is to pick 6 words that I have been mis-using and trivializing…shouldn’t be hard I doubt :/

    Lets start with Incredible. This is supposed to be something impossible to believe, but I believe almost everything so that can’t be used right ;)

    Then Outstanding. Mainly I just use this because Harry Solomon from Third Rock from the Sun used it :P

    Or what about Fabulous. This should be saved for when you walk into the hanging gardens of Babylon, not for a really nice sandwich.

    Even such things as Terrible. Nothing Terrible has ever happened to me I doubt, and to be honest i’m quite glad of that, it must be extremely, shockingly terror causing to count as terrible according to the definition.

    Okay so I might over use it sometimes, but actually the word Wonderful. Fits just right when you are seeing something like the Aurora in the middle of a frosty clear night. But not so much for anything that falls short of inspiring delight.

    And finally the vastly over used and wildly out of context Crazy. I can use this word to mean LOADS of different things none of which even come close to the real meaning lol

    I love eloquence in both written and spoken language, so I tend to play around with words and speech just to make pretty sounds. But when you have the pleasure of listening to or reading someone who fully and intelligently grasps their language it is always a treat, so I agree that the safe guarding of our words and their true meanings is an important lesson to keep.


    As for my Tag targets hmm…

    @wyrdkismet @flutterskye @Crystalinne

Comments (11)

  • I like this post, especially the final paragraph. I’m glad you tagged me so I would find this post, but a coming up with my own list of six words, that will take a bit of thought. One word that I perhaps overuse, though not necessarily incorrectly, is “indeed”.

  • Oh crazy. I didn’t think about that one.
    I guess mad and insane tie into that.

    Food for thought, the whole trivialising of actual madness.

  • @Crystalinne - Indeed this is a hard quest to perform. I suppose the Elf Quest folks inspired the word quest because how many folks in real life leave their comfortable homes to go out on a quest? Well actually in a fantasy world a lot of folks will want to go out on a quest.

    What separates religious folks from the secular? The religious folks who are challenged will want to go out on a mission. The secular folks may or may not have a religious justification for a quest.

    What other word stands out? Exceptional because I am intelligent enough to spot the exception to the rule. My mind gets tired of the humdrum or mediocre…..

    Since I am a biologist, I do like the word Climatic (derived from Climax). When things reach a plateau that is the climax stage of life. As I grow older, I would hope to reach the climatic conclusion of my life.

  • Maybe I’m crazy but I’ll go ahead and ask: would it be incredibly terrible of me to suggest that this was an outstanding post? Have a fabulously wonderful Saturday!

  • @Zissu25 -  Ha! You did exactly what I thought of doing! Good one!!! HUGS!!!

    Bede: fun, interesting post! You are an incredible, outstanding, fabulous, wonderful person!
    And I am terrible and crazy!
    HUGS!!!

  • I agree with your word choices and this was fun to do! :) Thanks for tagging me.

  • @adamswomanback -  haha – hugs to you too! :)

  • @Crystalinne - Hehe glad you enjoyed it :)
    it wasn’t that hard to come up with them once I sat down and tried.

    @Nushirox2 - Lol yeah must be a trick by the loonies to slip under the radar ;)

    @PPhilip - I want to go on a legitimate quest :]

    @Zissu25 - -_- there’s always one isn’t there :P

    @adamswomanback - Lol thank you Carolyn <3
    You are prehaps terribly crazy but not terrible and crazy ;)

    @wyrdkismet - You’re welcome I thought you might have fun with this.

  • what about Fabulous? You know much about that fabolousclown right?

  • @fabolousclown - Ah but when it comes to you the word Fabulous fits perfectly ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *