March 29, 2013

  • 3rd Leg Edinburgh

    The Final city on my long tour (well penultimate city) was Edinburgh, by far my favourite of all :D

    Not only did I get to stay with my cousin and his wife both of which are lovely people and very relaxed and welcoming, but I also got to see many lovely galleries and artworks in the three days I managed to be there.

    The National Scottish Gallery was particularly interesting as was the National Portrait gallery, even the building it was housed in was a work of art.

    I also got taken out to a pub, well three pubs it turned out to be by them and a few of their friends. Got to be honest pubs and bars are not my forte but it was an interesting experience and the folks were nice so I didn’t freak out too much at the noise and seeming chaos of pubs :S

    The final bar was a sports bar since one of our group was an avid Rugby fan, personally I have zero interest in sports and the impact of a rather full sports bar during somesort of important game (scotland may have been playing) was beyond my ability to tolerate for too long. I had to VERY quickly learn lip reading for one thing lol but watching the Rugby fans appreciation of the events on the screen was fun :P and thankfully my Cousins wife was tired and left earlyish giving me an easy out ;)

    But over all Edinburgh was lovely, a nice feel, good people and generally fun experiances.

    Only downside was getting on a bus on the wrong direction so it went to the terminus then they swapped drivers and I had to pay twice despite never getting off the bus -_-

    Also I have discovered that for the iphone addicted traveller Starbucks is awesome! :)

    Right now for some pics of Edinburgh:

    Some sort of building, possibly a hotel :P lol not sure what it is but it looks pretty.

    A rainbow over the hills beyond the city.

    Photo from the Museum on the Mound, which is a Banking museum.

    The National Scottish Gallery interior, lovely building with two large areas like this in it, if not more.

    Some statue dude on the main street in Edinburgh (Princes Street)

    The Scott Monument, looks kinda creepy since it is stained black.

    Bit of lovely gothicness thanks to gargoyles and nice lighting ;)

     

    Will make a phone pics post later, with more from here and in the galleries.

    With luck I might head back to Edinburgh during the Festival time since my cousin invited me down during then :D will have to see if the finances and free time will get me there. *fingers crossed*

     

Comments (8)

  • I have really liked reading about your latest adventures. Sorry I haven’t been around more often.

    Have I ever showed you my gargoyle sketches before?

  • @boxedwine - Glad you enjoyed them :D
    Aww and thanks that okay I’ve not been on for ages :/ how you doing?

    Nope don’t think you have, I would love to see them though :)

  • One day we WILL get to Edinburgh. In fact I’ve never been to Scotland at all and its second only to a return visit to Australia on my “Go there!” list.

    I’d like to see Edinburgh twice: once during the Festival, and once without it. I suspect it feels like two different cities.

  • Edinburgh is one of my favourite places on earth. So beautiful and you captured it nicely!!

  • OH! The architecture is amazing! Thank you for sharing your photos!!!
    Every city I visit, I go to the art galleries. Last Fall I was in an art gallery and saw paintings done by one of my favorite artists…I stood there and cried…I’d never seen any of her paintings in a gallery before. I will never forget that day!
    I’d LOVE to see your gallery photos!!! Oh please oh please post them!!! And tag me, so I don’t miss them!!!
    HUGS!!!

  • Lovely pictures! I also dislike noisy environments and have no interest in sports.

  • Wow, so beautiful! I absolutely love the gothic architecture.

  • @holeinyoursoul - It’s well worth going :) really one of the nicest cities i’ve seen.
    And yes aparently it is SUPER busy during the festival but has a really good ‘feel’ You managed to get out to Wales yet?

    @EmilyandAtticus - Hehe well it is a nice city, but its still a city. Wilderness wins ;)
    Thanks Emily

    @adamswomanback - :D Thank you Carolyn! <3
    Yes I love galleries and artworks, they are so amazing, never been brought to tears by one but I love that you are so open.
    I didn’t take too many but i’ll post them eventually :)

    @naughty_virgin - :) thank you and yea I think we may be kindred spirits in many ways ;)

    @Marica0701 - Yeah me too <3 always had a soft spot for that sort of thing.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *