December 21, 2012

  • An Answer

    It is not for us to reason why, it is but for us to do and die.

    So young soldiers will be heard to cry as they let their bullets fly.


    I was listening to the audio book of the Dune Saga recently and it is a truly awesome experiance :) Frank Herbert is a masterful author as many i’m sure already know.

    But along with the skill of story writing and the entertaining complexity of his world he also has a pretty impressive amount of wisdom to empart through out the books.

    One little nugget (of many MANY that i’ve sadly already forgotten) was along the lines of purpose and the meaning of our lives.

    The gist of it was that while we are all always seeking a ‘reason’ or a ‘purpose’ humanity in fact can never have such a solid answer. Paul the original protagonist of the first Dune book gains the ability of Oracle. By which I mean he is no longer limited to seeing the present and the past only, he is able to look forwards into the myriad potential futures.

    But this ability ends up destroying him in a sense because we as humans are ment to be always seeking, always learning and exploring. It is our purest nature.

    This nature drives us to always be dissatisfied and frustrated, looking endlessly for ‘The Answer’ or a purpose. But what we fail to spot is the paradox staring us right in the face.

    Our purpose IS that sensation of desire for answers, the seeking is our most sought after expression of humanity. To be burdened with absolute knowledge of what is to come and of our purpose is a terrible thing that would rob us of any sense of joy or peace. As is so beautifully expressed in the first three Dune books Pauls prescience becomes like a tramline driving him towards an inescapeable series of events that he has to live the memories of over and over well before they ever happen.

    I love the kind of books that look on the surface like a story about space empires and giant worms…and then turn out to be jam packed with incredible complex and enlightening conversation about the nature of life, reality and the mind hehe :)

    Despite having known something similar to this concept before, the two or three line quote that was in the book, perfecly encapsulated it for me and has given me a much needed sense of peace for a while.

    So bottom line…yay for books! ;)

Comments (9)

  • I did read/watch Dune. It’s been quite awhile though. Another favorite was Ender’s Game and it’s series. I think you would like that too b/c as well as a sci-fi story, it has the underlying thinking about decisions and humanity, right and wrong and the value of life. For those willing to think about it, it is most excellent. It has won awards even, and over the last few years they’ve republished and started having school kids read it. I smile knowing I’d done so on my own years prior. I do recommend it for you.

  • Reading is WONDERFUL!!!

  • let me recommend a book I just read:

    A Universe from Nothing!

    :)

  • I confess that I haven’t read Frank Herbert’s books, but I will put them on my list. It’s an interesting point. I’m not sure if I entirely agree, as I sort of think the ongoing quest for knowledge would continue even if we could see into the future. I’d still like to know what will happen, so I can plan ahead!

    I do think life is about a constant quest for learning. The more I learn, the more I feel I don’t know. Aspirations are important that way. In any event, this makes me curious to check out his work. Great post! :)

  • Hmm, that’s an interesting take on the philosophy of the novel. I read Dune, because several people recommended it to me, but I will need to read it again because for much of the book I was very confused. I also purchased the first sequel, which I haven’t even started.

    I think that if I knew everything I would be bored. When I learn all I know about one thing, I start looking for things I know nothing about. :)

  • @Lakakalo - Hah :] one must never forget 42 ;)

    @Crystalinne - Thank you! :) I have heard of that before but never listened/read it i’ll add it to the list for sure!
    And yes Dune is quite something, it goes WAY beyond the first book in the next couple, very impressive mind Herbert had.

    @olwd - :D agreed!

    @Zissu25 - Hmmm I’ll look into it, on the subject of universes check out ‘The Holographic Universe’ thats a cracker! ;)

    @EmilyandAtticus - Yes they are very interesting books, and so full of wonderful concepts they are a real treat.

    And yes it would with foresight…but the concept he was playing with was that by seeing it, he sort of began drawing it to himself, so the more he looked out into one future the more that of the many potentials became real…and in the end he could not escape.

    Thanks for your comment :D

    @agnophilo - Wow :O wisdom from Babylon 5…now i’ve seen everything :D thank you for this!

    @leaflesstree - Yes it is a heavy read thats for sure, I doubt i’d have gotten through them if not for the audiobooks lol but stick with it for at least two books and you’ll get the concept, it is wonderfully constructed and artistically done.

    I agree we must always have a mystery :)

  • @SaintBlue1131 - It was a really good show actually.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *