December 7, 2012

  • Positivity Week Day 3

    Day 1 – Share A Picture
    Share a picture from this year. It can be of a person, someplace you went, an event and explain why it is positive to you.
     
    Day 2 – Turn A Negative Into A Positive
    Tell about something that happened to you this year that was negative, but ended up being positive.
     
    Day 3 – A Movie With A Positive Message
    Write about a movie you have watched that you think had a positive message. It can be one you’ve seen recently, this year, last, or just a favorite.
     
    Day 4 – Your Day
    Share something positive about your day. It can be something as simple as someone hi, or smiled at you and it put you in a good mood.
     
    Day 5 – Gratitude
    Today make a list of things, or people you’re grateful for. The list has no limit, it can be as short or as long as you want.
     
    Day 6 – Share A Song
    Share a song that you think is positive. 
     
    Day 7 – Feeling Positive

    On this last day, share what you do after you’ve had a bad day to cheer yourself up, or get yourself feeling positive again.


    I’ll go for one I saw only just recently :) Moonrise Kingdom

    This is the latest film by the director Wes Anderson, and so far todate I have only seen one of his films that i’ve not really enjoyed all the rest are firmly at the top of my favourites list.

    This one is no exception, it is a beautiful construction both in story and filmically. A theme within the film is the different pieces of an orchestra all working together to create something beautiful and I feel this is a perfect description for the film its self, and for a lot of Wes Andersons work. Each moment and word plays its own perfect note that all comes together and creates an orchestra of mood, emotion and imagination.

    But beyond my movie nerds view on this :P the films story its self I found very moving and touching. It is about many things but there are themes of innocence, love and the sense of lonliness we all feel no matter who we are or what lives we lead.

    The performances of the young actors are very impressive and despite its dreamlike quality it feels very real in a sense. Plus since it’s Wes it’s also very funny and I doubt i’ll ever be able to see it without being left with a big grin on my face as the credits roll :D

    It is a film full of that bitter sweet feeling of longing and comfort, you wish you could live in its world for a while. The almost childs imagination world of potential, which in truth we still live in…it’s just we learn to ignore it. So it’s nice to have films like this to remind us.

Comments (9)

  • I’ve never heard of this movie, but you do a good job recommending it and making it sound appealing.

  • ^ Agreed. Sounds very positive. The point, right? :)

  • I dragged my bf to go see this with me and the whole time he kept going “WTF?!??” under his breath. Haha It is very artsy and I am sure it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I fairly enjoyed it. Young love at its best. :)

  • BEDE, I miss you, and so sorry I have not written to you lately, life is crazy these next two weeks, and next Thursday I will be home free with my finals being over with–what all do you have planned for the weekend?  I have not seen Moonrise Kingdom either, but have heard of it, isn’t Bruce Willis in it?!

  • haha You make that description sound so wonderful for that movie, you should promote movies more often :P

  • this is nice..

  • @Crystalinne - Well it might not be for everyone, he is very stylized, but I think it’s a wonderful construction. If you want his best work in my opinion then watch The Darjeeling Limited.

    @jennylovve - Yup :) it certainly left me happy.

    @Babieboo_Annie - lol yeah it might be a bit of a slog if you are not a fan of the style :P
    and there are a few wtf moments haha but it’s still a nice film, have you seen many of Wes Andersons other films?

    @Endless21Echos - Aww Miss you too Erin! :)
    I’m sorry I should have been writing more too, but I seem never to have enough time for life anymore -_-
    My weekend is mostly the same as my weekday :/ one of the benefits/downsides of not have a set routine.
    I’ll send you a PM later :) And yes he is in it :D

    @Twiztidsilverskull - Haha yeah if I manage to find something I believe in it’s pretty easy for me to get arried away describing it :)

    @ribas - Thanks :)

  • yay for Moonrise Kingdom! :D

    though I notice how the end of Positivity Week coincides with my return to Xanga… :P

  • @Zissu25 - Well who needs positivity posts when you have a Jordan! ;) haha
    And yeah Moonrise was brilliant :D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *